The North Carolina Turnpike Authority was created in 2002 by the General Assembly in response to concerns about rapid growth, heavy congestion and dwindling resources.

The Turnpike Authority is authorized to study, plan, develop, construct, operate and maintain up to nine projects.

Click here to view current Turnpike Authority projects.

The mission of the Turnpike Authority is to supplement the traditional non-toll transportation system serving the citizens of North Carolina by accelerating the delivery of roadway projects using alternative financing options and facilitating the development, delivery and operation of an integrated, creative system of toll roads.

Board of Directors

The North Carolina Turnpike Authority is governed by a nine-member board of directors. Four members of the board are appointed by the Governor; two members are appointed by the President Pro-Tem of the Senate; and two by the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

  • Secretary Anthony Tata, Chair
  • Perry R. Safran, Vice Chair
  • Robert D. Teer, Jr. , Sec.-Treasurer
  • John Collett
  • Scott Aman
  • Jim Crawford
  • Jake Alexander
  • Charles L. Travis, III

Board of Directors Meeting Calendar

All meetings will be held at:     NCDOT Highway Building
6th Floor – Room # 608
1 South Wilmington Street
Raleigh, NC 2760
Thursday, March 5, 2015     12:30PM – 2:00PM
Turnpike Board Meeting Agenda      
NCTA Board Meeting Presentation      
Board Meeting Minutes      
Special Note: You will receive an invite to attend the NCDOT Centennial Celebration event being held at 10:00AM in the NCDOT auditorium.
Thursday, June 4, 2015     10:30AM – 12:30PM
Thursday, September 3, 2015     10:30AM – 12:30PM
Thursday, December 3, 2015     10:30AM – 12:30PM

Meeting Minutes

Contact Information

  • Toll Related Questions & Customer Service Center, call 1-877-7MY-PASS (1-877-769-7277) or email TollQuestions@ncdot.gov.
  • General inquiries, call (919) 707-2700.
  • Members of the media, call NCDOT Communications Office at (919) 707-2660.
  • Project-specific inquiries, send email to:
    • triangleexpressway@ncdot.gov
    • southeast@ncdot.gov
    • monroe@ncdot.gov
    • midcurrituck@ncdot.gov
    • gaston@ncdot.gov
    • capefear@ncdot.gov


  • Address: NC Turnpike Authority
    1578 Mail Service Center
    Raleigh, NC 27699-1578


  • Address: 1 South Wilmington Street
  • Raleigh, NC 27601
  • Phone: (919) 707-2700
  • Fax: (919) 715-5511