Registration Renewal

Online Vehicle Registration Renewal is as easy as 1–2–3. Just remember, you have to have your car inspected first.

Electronic Vehicle Inspection

NC’s vehicle safety and emissions inspection program went electronic in November 2008. NC no longer requires windshield stickers showing the vehicle has received an inspection.

Learn about how your vehicle inspection and registration renewal work together. Watch this video!

Vehicles driving on highway
When to Get Inspected

You must have your vehicle inspected no more than
90 days before your plate expires.

Time to Renew?

You may renew your vehicle’s registration up to 90 days before the registration expires. You can find the registration expiration date on your vehicle registration card or the stickers on your vehicle’s license plate.

NCDMV will mail to your last address on record a reminder, which includes the registration renewal fee as well as property taxes due.

Single Registration Sticker

As of May 26, 2015, license plates associated with new vehicle registrations and renewals have a single gray sticker indicating the month and year of expiration affixed to them. The change replaces the need for two stickers – one for the year and one for the month.

DMV Vehicle Sticker

Customers with existing registrations will receive the single sticker by mail or by visiting a local license plate office when it is time to renew their registration.

Apply the gray sticker to the upper-right corner of the license plate. You do not need to remove the old "month" sticker on the upper-left corner.

Note: Does not apply to the Limited Registration Plate sticker.

How to Renew

Step 1: Meet the Requirements

To start registration renewal in North Carolina you'll need to meet these requirements:

Vehicle Taxation & Inspection

Property taxes for the vehicle you are attempting to register must be paid.

Registration Stops or "Blocks"

Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles:

  • $30,000 – bodily injury, one person
  • $60,000 – bodily injury, two or more people
  • $25,000 – property damage

General Statute 20-279.21 requires Uninsured⁄Underinsured Motorists coverage. Auto insurance policies with the minimum Bodily Injury and Property Damage limits are required to include Uninsured Motorists coverage. Policies with limits greater than the minimum must provide combined Uninsured⁄Underinsured Motorists coverage. Contact Department of Insurance – Consumer Services at 1-855-408-1212, option 3 for further information regarding this statute.

Under certain circumstances, you may not be able to register your vehicle. These are referred to as registration stops or "blocks." Please review the list of registration stops and take the required steps to clear them before continuing.

Proof of Liability Insurance
Step 2: Inspection

Next, you'll need to get your vehicle inspected. You can find more information about North Carolina inspections and inspection station locations here:

Step 3: Submit & Pay Your Application

Accepted payment for transactions at DMV Offices includes cash, money order, personal checks[?]
Some offices accept Visa, MasterCard and Discover credit and debit cards. Call ahead to confirm.

Renewal, Safety, On-Board Diagnostic Inspections Fees
Plate Fee, Private Passenger Vehicles $36
Regional Transportation Authority Registration Tax for Vehicles Registered in WAKE County [?] $5
Piedmont Authority for Regional Transportation Tax for Vehicles Registered in RANDOLPH County [?] $1
Vehicles Registered in DURHAM Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax $5 County Vehicle Registration Tax $10 [?] $15
Vehicles Registered in ORANGE Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax $5 County Vehicle Registration Tax $10 [?] $15
Safety Inspection [?] $13.60
On-Board Diagnostic Emissions Inspection [?] $30

Safety & On-Board Diagnostic Inspections, Contact Information

Vehicle Fees, Contact & Delivery Information

Email Us:
Mail Us:
N. C. Division of Motor Vehicles
3148 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699

Lost or Never Received Renewal Registration Card

If you never received your renewal card and your vehicle has a current inspection you can:

  • Go Online:
    Online Registration Renewal
    You will need your license plate number and the last five digits of your title number.
    (This information can be found on your current registration card)
  • Email us:
    Contact Us
    Request a registration renewal card to be mailed to you.
  • Call us:
    (919) 715-7000
    Request a registration renewal card to be mailed to you.
  • Visit us:
    Registration Office
    Bring your plate number and insurance information.

Forgot to Renew Your Registration?

Life can be hectic. If you forget to renew your registration during the allotted month, there is a grace period of 15 days.

If your vehicle failed to pass emissions inspection, you may obtain a 10-day trip permit from the DMV to allow you to drive to an inspection station to have it re-inspected once it’s repaired.

If you have questions regarding the 15-day grace period and 10-day permit: