To obtain a license plate and registration for a vehicle that already has a North Carolina title printed in your name, visit one of our Vehicle & License Plate Renewal Offices.
Getting a North Carolina License Plate
Minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles
- $30,000 – bodily injury, one person
- $60,000 – bodily injury, two or more people
- $25,000 – property damage
20-279.21 requires Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists coverage. Auto insurance policies with the minimum Bodily Injury and Property Damage limits are required to include Uninsured Motorists coverage. Policies with limits greater than the minimum must provide combined Uninsured/Underinsured Motorists coverage. Contact Department of Insurance - Consumer Services at 1-855-408-1212, option 3 for further information regarding this statute.
- Step 1, Requirements & Documents
Before a license plate can be issued, the following is needed:
- Vehicle must be registered & titled in North Carolina
- Vehicle description
- Proof of liability insurance
- Acceptable documents for vehicle description:
- Vehicle Title or Title number
- VIN (Vehicle Identification Number)
- Acceptable proof of liability insurance:
- Step 2, Inspection
Next, you'll need to get your vehicle inspected.
You can find more information about NC Inspections and Inspection Station locations here:
- Step 3, Submit Information & Pay Fees
Payments for transactions at License Plate Agencies Offices are accepted in the form of
personal checks[?] or
credit cards (limited to Visa, MasterCard and Discover).
We cannot accept debit cards at this time.
|Plate Fee, Private Passenger Vehicles
|Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 4,000 lbs
|Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 5,000 lbs
|Plate Fee, Private Truck Under 6,000 lbs
|Plate Fee, Trailer or Semi-trailer
|House Trailer and/or Camping Trailer
|Private Bus (16 Passengers and More)
|Permanent & State Owned Plates
|Regional Transportation Authority Registration Tax for Vehicles Registered in WAKE [?]
|Piedmont Authority for Regional Transportation Tax for Vehicles Registered in RANDOLPH County [?]
|Vehicles Registered in DURHAM Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax $5.00 County Vehicle Registration Tax $10.00 [?]
|Vehicles Registered in ORANGE Regional Transit Authority Registration Tax $5.00 County Vehicle Registration Tax $10.00 [?]
N. C. Division of Motor Vehicles
3148 Mail Service Center